Home About Exhibitions Visit Research Learn Programs Support

Avery Research Center

dod_bottletree5

The mission of the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture is to collect, preserve, and promote the unique history and culture of the African diaspora, with emphasis on Charleston and the South Carolina Lowcountry.  Avery’s archival collections, museum exhibitions, and public programming reflect these diverse populations as well as the wider African Diaspora. The Avery Research Center is located at 125 Bull Street, Charleston, SC 29424 in the historic Harleston Village.  Phone: 843.953.7609.

 


News & Notes

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public Thanksgiving week – from Monday, November 24, 2014 – Friday, November 28, 2014. We will reopen on Monday, December 1, 2014. Have a great holiday!

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public Tuesday, November 4, 2014 for Election Day. The Avery Research Center will return to normal business hours Wednesday, November 5, 2014.

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public Tuesday, October 28, 2014 & Wednesday, October 29, 2014. The Avery Research Center will return to normal business hours Thursday, October 30, 2014.

Fisk Jubilee Singers in Concert

Continuing the Legacy: Colour of Music Black Classical Musicians Festival and the Avery Research Center present the Fisk Jubilee Singers, Friday, Oct. 17, 7:00 pm, Circular Congregational Church, Charleston, SC. For more information please see: http://www.colourofmusic.org/event/fisk-university-jubilee-singers/

Celebrating Toni Cade Bambara!

Join us at the Avery Research Center on Thursday, October 9, 2014, at 6:00pm as we celebrate the life and work of Toni Cade Bambara with biographer Linda Holmes in a lecture and book signing: “Celebrating Toni Cade Bambara: A Life Free of Spiritual and Political Boundaries.” A Joyous Revolt: Toni Cade Bambara, Writer and […]

-