Home About Exhibitions Visit Research Learn Programs Support

Avery Research Center

dod_bottletree5

The mission of the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture is to collect, preserve, and promote the unique history and culture of the African diaspora, with emphasis on Charleston and the South Carolina Lowcountry.  Avery’s archival collections, museum exhibitions, and public programming reflect these diverse populations as well as the wider African Diaspora. The Avery Research Center is located at 125 Bull Street, Charleston, SC 29424 in the historic Harleston Village.  Phone: 843.953.7609.

 


News & Notes

“SELMA”: Panel Presentation and Community Discussion

“SELMA”: Panel Presentation and Community Discussion. Beyond the Red Carpet. January 14, 2015, 6-8:00pm at the Avery Research Center. The film chronicles the tumultuous three-month period in 1965 when Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. led a dangerous campaign to secure equal voting rights in the face of violent opposition. The epic march from Selma to […]

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public from Monday, December 22, 2014 – Friday, January 2, 2015. We will reopen to the public on Monday, January 5, 2015. Have a joyous holiday season and a Happy New Year!

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public Thanksgiving week – from Monday, November 24, 2014 – Friday, November 28, 2014. We will reopen on Monday, December 1, 2014. Have a great holiday!

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public Tuesday, November 4, 2014 for Election Day. The Avery Research Center will return to normal business hours Wednesday, November 5, 2014.

The Avery Research Center will be closed to the public Tuesday, October 28, 2014 & Wednesday, October 29, 2014. The Avery Research Center will return to normal business hours Thursday, October 30, 2014.

-